Where are the young women?

I’ve been giving a lot of thought lately to that fact that I am in the work force, I’ve got a social web presence that I am working on strengthening, I feel motivated to continue building my skill set, experiences, and opportunities, and… I am a woman.  I am often talking to my roommate about the fact that we’ve recently lost a handful of friends to marriage at the ripe age of 22/23 and how frankly, that scares us to death.  How could you possibly be ready to settle that early in life? (Now, with all do respect, to each his own, etc, I’m not judging young marriages at all!) That being said, I have seen some young brides sit around at home, trying to figure out what they do with their lives and what they feel passionate about.  Maybe if they felt the pressure of a paycheck and things would be moving a little faster for them…I’m just saying.

I have made some great connections via twitter and other social web outlets and I’ve gotten great advice and encouragement through these connections. (Especially through the lay off and job search phase I just came out of.)  However, sometimes I feel frustrated that they aren’t more young women out there who are fearful, ambitious, and worried about the same things.  Granted, there are a large number of successful women , it’s my age group that I am often frustrated with.  I am blessed to have a handful of great (girl)friends who are in great jobs,  law school, etc and who all performing well.  They are powerful and successful young women – but why does it feel we are outnumbered?

Maybe these are simply the rantings of a someone who has consistently been the youngest in the office, and is about to start work as part of a team of older males.  Either way, I’m learning to fight the self doubt that says, I’m just a young female in this office…  and turn those into positive thoughts that assure me I have more insight and more energy and will be better because of it!!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Where are the young women?

  1. I’ve found that the PR business is DOMINATED by women. Not even close, actually.

    I don’t know if it’s that women are better at cultivating relationships–although I would say that on the whole, they are–but men in PR certainly are a scarce breed.

    As the market changes from direct marketing/publicity, I think those that foster relationships will be much, much better off. Make connections, introduce people, be a facilitator for change. Lead a tribe.

    A smart, capable, well-dressed, good-looking woman is men’s ultimate competition, because most men can’t compete the same way. The old guard that held meetings in back rooms with cigar smoke are gone.

  2. WOW. Incredibly insightful post. I’m so impressed with your analysis of this reality.

  3. First point, I’m generations beyond you, having spent decades in the corporate world. I’m now diving into social networking and have been connecting with some of the local social media gurus. Turns out most are women in their 20s. Not to mention the fact that the woman who has done my PR for years is still in her 20s.

    I see this as a renaissance of sorts, whereby the female’s (trying not to be too sexist) natural insight, intelligence and conversation skills are augmented by the fact this generation has grown up digital.

    All the things I’m struggling to learn (and I was a former CIO!) is in their/your DNA. Decades ago is was (almost) only men who were techies, but this time around the ladies are learning it just as fast and tying it to superior social skills. It’s amazing for me to see.

    Just my two cents worth…

Leave a Reply

